Top Law Colleges


In India, National Law Universities (NLU) or National Law schools are the law schools founded pursuant to the second-generation reforms for legal educations that were implemented by the Bar Council of India.They are single-discipline universities that offers integrated honours and law degree programmes. These law schools were established by the act of the state government. Hence, although they are termed as National University, they are recognized as state-level law colleges by UGC (University Grants Commission) and regulated by Bar council of India and Ministry of Law and Justice.

NLUs are the most desired law schools in India . The first NLU was established in the year 1986 in Bangalore came to be known as the National Law School of India University (NLSIU). Today, it is considered to be the epitome of Law schools.Since then, every state in India has established a National Law University and currently, there are 23 National law schools in India, which have continuously been ranked as the India’s top-most law schools.

Finding the information about the National Law School is another challenge that the law aspirants often encounter. It is very important for the student to have detail information about all the National Law University in India. So given below is the list of National Law schools in India (as per the year of Establishment):

Name of National Law Universities NLU's Info
National Law School of India University, Bangalore View more details
National Academy of Legal Study & Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad View more details
The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata View more details
National Law Institute University, Bhopal View more details
National Law University, Jodhpur View more details
Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar View more details
Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur View more details
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow View more details
Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala View more details
National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam View more details
National Law University Odisha, Cuttack View more details
National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi View more details
Chanakya National Law University Patna View more details
National Law University, Delhi View more details
DamodaramSanjivayya National Law University (DSNLU) Visakhapatnam View more details
National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi View more details
The Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirapalli View more details
Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai View more details
Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur View more details
Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad View more details
Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla View more details
Dharmashastra National Law University, Jabalpur View more details
Dr B R Ambedkar National Law University Sonipat, Haryana View more details

Admission Process

Admission in 22 National Law Universities is done via the Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is a national level entrance exam for admissions to undergraduate (UG) and postgraduate (PG) law programmes offered by around the country. It is organized by the Consortium of National Law Universities consisting of the representative universities.

However, admission to the National Law University, Delhi is done via All India Law Entrance Test (AILET) and not one the basis of CLAT Score.


The courses of Law are very popular and hence, apart from national law universities, there are lucrative law courses being offered by various private and government colleges and universities in India. One can pursue his or her study in various law courses such as LL.B (Bachelor of legislative law), integrated LL.B, LL.M (Master of legislative law) and doctoral courses.

Here’s the list of law colleges, one can opt for apart from National Law universities:

Law Colleges NLU's Info
Jindal Global Law School, Sonipat View more details
Army Institute of Law, Mohali View more details
Symbiosis Law School (Pune/Noida/Hyderabad) Pune  Noida  Hyderabad
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur View more details
School of Law, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun View more details
Amity University, Delhi View more details
Jamia MilliaIslamia, New Delhi. View more details
Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology School of Law, Bhubaneswar View more details
Christ University, (Bangalore/Pune/Delhi NCR) View more details
Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad View more details
IFIM Law School, Bangalore View more details
Indian Law Society, Law College, Pune View more details
Government Law College, Mumbai View more details
Bhartiya Vidyapeeth, New Law College, Pune View more details
Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh View more details
Panjab University, Chandigarh View more details
KLE Society’s Law College, Bangalore View more details
MS Ramaiah College of Law, Bangalore View more details
ICFAI Law School, (Jaipur/Dehradun/Hyderabad) Jaipur  Dehradun  Hyderabad

Admission Process

The Admission process in these aforementioned university can be based on different modes, depending on their preference. The procedure for admission can be any the following:

1. Admission Test: Many of the non-nlu universities conducts their own entrance examination which the candidates have to clear in order to get admission in their under graduation/graduation courses, for example, AIL, UPES, Christ University, Symbiosis etc.

2. CLAT/LSAT/MHCET Score: Some University such as UPES, NIRMA etc. consider the score obtained in CLAT UG examination as the eligibility criteria and the admission is granted on the basis of that score only. Similarly, Jindal University considers the score obtained in LSAT examination (conducted by LSAC India). Apart from this, one can appear for MHCET Examination which is required to get admission in listed colleges in Maharashtra such ILS, GLC and BVP.